How Much Should An Engagement Ring Cost: Avoid Mistakes

how much should an engagement ring cost: The honest answer, average spend was $4,600 in 2025. Practical tips to avoid financing and resale regrets. Read more.

Published26 October 2026
Read time12 min
How much should an engagement ring cost: an engagement ring resting on a jewelry store display tray beside a printed price tag, soft light catching the stone

You’re staring at a jewelry store website at 11 p.m., the price filter set to “no limit” because you don’t actually know what the limit should be, and somewhere in the back of your head a voice is whispering two months’ salary.

That rule, it turns out, was invented by a diamond company in the 1980s to sell more diamonds, which is a sentence that should be on a plaque somewhere.

The real numbers look pretty different from what that rule implies, and they’ve shifted enough in the last few years that whatever figure you’ve got in your head from a friend’s engagement is probably already out of date. A friend of ours (couple we’ve talked through more than a few money conversations with) spent months convinced she and her partner needed to be in a certain price bracket just to be “doing it right.” They weren’t in debt over it, but it was close, and the stress that came with that near-miss took the shine off the whole thing before the ring was even on her finger. The data actually backs up a completely different story: one where how much should an engagement ring cost has a much lower honest answer than the industry wants you to think.

The Receipts Sourced
2025 average ring spend couples married in 2025 per Rapaport’s coverage of 2025 study$4,600
Natural-diamond ring average 2025, The Knot, average stone 1.6 ct$7,000
Lab-grown ring average 2025, The Knot, average stone 2.0 ct$4,300
Lab-grown share of 2025 rings 61% of all engagement rings purchased per the same Knot study61%
Resale gap (secondary, unverified) reported median sales prices from secondary BriteCo-related coverage: methodology not confirmed; treat as directional only per KESQ / Stacker$12,961 natural vs $4,557 lab-grown
ALWAYS CONFIRM DETAILS DIRECTLY WITH YOUR VENDOR

How much do people actually spend on engagement rings in 2025–2026?

The best verified national figure available right now: couples married in 2025 spent an average of $4,600 on an engagement ring, down from $5,200 in 2024, according to Rapaport’s coverage of 2025 wedding study. That’s a meaningful one-year drop, and it continues a longer downward trend from roughly $6,000 in 2021.

That headline number, though, is doing a lot of averaging across a very wide spread. Break it out by stone type and the story sharpens considerably. Natural-diamond rings averaged $7,000 in 2025, with a typical center stone of 1.6 carats. Lab-grown rings averaged $4,300, with a slightly larger typical center stone of 2.0 carats. Those two categories aren’t niche: lab-grown diamonds made up 61% of all engagement rings in The Knot’s 2025 data, up from a fraction of the market just five years ago. The overall average of $4,600 is being pulled toward that lower lab-grown range simply because most buyers are now choosing it.

What we don’t have: a verified median (which would tell you the midpoint, not the pulled-by-outliers average), or any confirmed 10th and 90th percentile figures. A complete year-by-year series from 2018 through 2025 doesn’t exist in any single authoritative source we could find. What we can say is the direction is clearly downward, and lab-grown adoption is the biggest single driver.

The practical read: if you’re spending somewhere between $3,000 and $7,000, you are squarely in the range most couples are actually spending in 2025, not a “budget” ring, not an extravagance, just the actual market. Anything you’ve heard about needing to spend more to be taken seriously is a marketing message, not a data point.

If the broader picture of wedding costs has you doing math right now, our breakdown of average wedding costs with real, honest numbers covers how the ring fits into the full spend.

How much of the ring price is the stone vs the setting, and who pays how?

Straight answer: no verified 2025 national data breaks a ring’s price into center-stone cost versus setting versus retail markup. What exists is a total-ring comparison by stone type: natural rings averaged $7,000 and lab-grown averaged $4,300. The gap between those two numbers is almost entirely stone cost (settings across both categories are often similar ranges) but that’s an inference from the totals, not a verified allocation percentage.

The same gap in the research applies to payment methods. There are no reliable 2025 figures on how many buyers paid cash, put it on a credit card, used a buy-now-pay-later service, or took in-store financing. You’ll find estimates on other wedding sites; we couldn’t verify any of them against an original survey with a defined methodology, so we’re not going to invent a share for you.

What we can do is give you the questions that actually protect you when you walk into a retailer:

  • APR and total cost of financing: “What is the exact APR on your financing, and what is my total cost if I take the full term to pay?” Deferred-interest offers (where no interest accrues only if you pay in full before a promotional period ends) can retroactively charge the full interest if you carry even a small balance past the deadline. Get the terms in writing.
  • Return window and restocking fees: Some jewelers charge 10–20% restocking fees on custom or resized pieces. Ask before you fall in love with anything.
  • Appraisal cost and timing: An independent appraisal (separate from the retailer’s own valuation) typically runs $50–$150 per item. You want this before you insure it, and you want it from someone with no financial stake in the number.
  • What “non-refundable” actually covers: Custom design work often has a non-refundable deposit once fabrication begins. Funny how the clause that’s non-negotiable is always written by the party that keeps the money.

Bestie aside: Ask for the APR in writing before you give them a card number. Not “the monthly payment”: the actual annual percentage rate and the total you’d pay over the full term. One jeweler told a friend of ours “it’s basically zero percent” on a deferred-interest plan; the fine print said 29.99% retroactive if she had a balance on day 366. She caught it. Not everyone does.

Bar chart comparing costs: Natural diamond $7,000; Lab-grown diamond $4,300; Moissanite $500–$1,200

What regrets, resale and insurance realities should change how much you spend?

Secondary reporting tied to BriteCo data (flagged here because the original methodology isn’t publicly confirmed) shows a significant gap in median resale prices: natural-diamond rings reportedly sold for a median of $12,961, while lab-grown rings sold for a median of $4,557, per KESQ’s 2026 coverage of the trend. Treat those as directional, not as precise resale percentages: the figures don’t account for original purchase price, condition, grading, marketplace, or seller fees.

The uncomfortable math: if you spend $4,300 on a lab-grown ring and the reported median resale is $4,557, that sounds fine: until you realize the resale price is independent of what you paid, reflects a secondary market that has rapidly devalued as supply increased, and doesn’t subtract the fees a resale platform or consignment dealer takes. Lab-grown diamond prices at retail have dropped sharply in recent years. That same dynamic affects secondhand value too.

On insurance: we found no verified 2025 national averages for annual ring insurance premiums or deductibles, so we won’t invent one. What we can tell you is the process. A scheduled rider on your homeowner’s or renter’s policy typically costs less than a standalone jewelry policy but has different coverage terms. Get an independent appraisal (not the retailer’s certificate) document the stone’s serial number if it’s laser-inscribed, and photograph the ring in detail. For lab-grown stones specifically, keep the disclosure paperwork: disclosure requirements exist in several jurisdictions, and a documented chain matters if you ever sell or claim.

Community threads on Reddit and various wedding forums consistently surface the same post-purchase regrets: carrying debt that felt manageable at purchase and didn’t stay that way, choosing a style under proposal pressure that the recipient would’ve changed, and discovering insurance gaps only after a loss or repair. We can’t quantify how common any of these are (the research doesn’t give us frequencies) but the themes appear often enough to be worth naming before, not after.

Practical protection checklist: get a written independent appraisal, photograph all angles plus any serial or inscription numbers, add a scheduled rider or jewelry policy immediately, keep the purchase receipt and any GIA or IGI grading report, and for lab-grown stones, retain the disclosure certificate.

His Take: A ring is a personal asset with poor resale liquidity and no reliable appreciation curve: that’s true for most jewelry, and it’s not a reason not to buy one. It is a reason not to finance it at a high APR in the hope it’ll hold value. Spend what you can afford to treat as a gift, not an investment, and size the stone to the budget rather than the budget to the stone.

Ask for the APR in writing beforeyou give them a card number. Not“the monthly payment”: the actualannual percentage rate and thetotal you’d pay over the fullterm. One jeweler told a friend ofours “it’s basically zero percent”on a deferred-interest…

How choice of stone changes the answer: natural diamond, lab-grown, moissanite and sapphires

In 2025, 61% of engagement rings featured lab-grown center stones, per the Knot data covered by Rapaport: making lab-grown the clear majority choice, not a fringe option. Natural-diamond rings averaged $7,000 at 1.6 carats; lab-grown averaged $4,300 at 2.0 carats. You get a larger stone for less money. That’s the core tradeoff, and it’s why the overall adoption shift happened so fast.

Stone type2025 avg ring costAvg center stoneSource quality
Natural diamond$7,0001.6 ctThe Knot / Rapaport (verified)
Lab-grown diamond$4,3002.0 ctThe Knot / Rapaport (verified)
Moissanite$500–$1,200Not reportedSecondary editorial only
Sapphire$500–$5,000+Not reportedSecondary editorial only

The moissanite and sapphire ranges above come from secondary editorial sources — Bespoke Bride’s 2026 analysis of non-diamond alternatives, and are useful for ballparking, not for setting precise expectations. The Knot data confirms both are the most popular non-diamond choices, but doesn’t break out their individual buyer percentages.

The resale picture differs meaningfully by category. Natural diamonds (particularly certified stones with documented provenance and GIA or IGI grading reports) tend to hold more resale value in the secondary market than lab-grown. The gap in secondary BriteCo-related reporting is wide ($12,961 vs $4,557 in median sales prices), though again those figures aren’t tied to original purchase price and should be treated as directional. Moissanite and sapphire resale markets are thinner and more variable; neither has the kind of established secondary infrastructure that natural diamonds do.

The question of how much an engagement ring should cost genuinely changes depending on which stone you choose, not just because the averages differ, but because the long-term financial profile (resale, insurance valuation, perceived worth over time) differs too. If you’re weighing lab-grown for the larger stone at a lower price, that’s a completely legitimate call that 61% of buyers made in 2025. Just go in knowing the resale math and insuring it based on a current independent appraisal, not on what you paid.

If you’re shopping around November and wondering whether to wait, we looked at whether Black Friday engagement ring deals are actually worth it: spoiler: sometimes, with caveats.

A couple sitting together at a kitchen table reviewing documents beside a laptop, a small ring box on the table between them

The honest answer to how much should an engagement ring cost is: whatever you can pay without financing at a rate that hurts, based on what the person wearing it actually wants, not a salary multiple invented to sell more diamonds and not a number you reverse-engineered from what someone else spent.

In 2025, the verified national average is $4,600, with most buyers landing between $4,300 (lab-grown) and $7,000 (natural diamond). No median, no percentile data, and no reliable payment-method breakdown exists in any authoritative public source right now, so if a site is giving you very precise figures in those categories, ask where they came from.

The paperwork side of this (the appraisal, the insurance rider, the financing fine print) is where couples consistently get surprised after the fact. If you want somewhere to track the full cost of your engagement and wedding in one place before the budget sprawl begins, the BigDay Classic Edition keeps the ring, vendor deposits, and everything that follows in one ledger instead of seventeen browser tabs. That’s less about the ring and more about what comes next, because the ring is only the first line item.

And if you’re already thinking about the proposal moment itself, we have a piece on proposal timing and how to avoid the mistakes that cost you options: worth reading before the ring is even on your finger.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the average cost of an engagement ring in 2025?

Couples married in 2025 spent an average of $4,600 on an engagement ring, according to Rapaport’s coverage of 2025 wedding study: down from $5,200 in 2024 and roughly $6,000 in 2021. That headline average splits into $7,000 for natural-diamond rings and $4,300 for lab-grown rings. No verified national median or percentile figures are currently available from any authoritative source.

Is the “two months’ salary” rule still valid?

No verified modern research supports a two-month income standard as a meaningful guide to what couples actually spend in 2025. The rule originated as an advertising campaign (not an affordability study) and no representative cross-tab of engagement-ring spending versus buyer income currently exists in the published data. A more useful frame: spend what you can pay without carrying high-interest debt, then choose the stone and size that fit that budget.

How much will I lose if I resell a lab-grown versus a natural diamond?

Secondary reporting tied to BriteCo data shows reported median sales prices of $12,961 for natural-diamond rings versus $4,557 for lab-grown rings in 2025–2026 coverage. Those figures aren’t tied to original purchase price, time held, condition, or resale channel, so they can’t be read as percentage-of-retail-recovered. What they do illustrate clearly is that the resale market treats natural and lab-grown diamonds very differently, and that lab-grown resale values have not kept pace with the rapid decline in lab-grown retail prices.

How does choosing a lab-grown diamond change how much I should spend?

Choosing lab-grown typically means your budget goes further on carat size: in 2025, the average lab-grown engagement ring cost $4,300 for a 2.0-carat center stone, versus $7,000 for a 1.6-carat natural-diamond ring. The tradeoff is a weaker resale market and faster retail-price depreciation for lab-grown stones. If you’re buying the ring to wear it, not to resell it, lab-grown is a legitimate majority choice: 61% of buyers made it in 2025. Just insure it based on an independent current appraisal and know the resale picture going in. For more on how the average engagement ring cost fits into the full picture, see our guide to avoiding wedding budget mistakes.

Honestly Loved Duo

Written by

Honestly Loved Duo

We’re the two-person team behind Big Day Wedding Planner, married digital nomads who planned our own wedding across three time zones and two suitcases, and have talked more friends through vendor-contract panic and budget spirals than we can count. Every number here is sourced and linked, every checklist comes from something one of us (or a friend) actually lived through.

Keep reading

Next in the journal

See all